Some thoughts on Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire movie

I’ve just watched Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire yesterday with my good friend Azee. Generally, I’ve enjoyed the film. It somehow achieved a portion of the excitement that the book has. Also, it is somehow better to see it with all the computer graphics and the wonderful concepts of the movie creators. Though I have disappointments on the movie cause it missed to show the most exciting parts of the book.

1. The movie showed a disappointing Quidditch World Cup that only featured a very large stadium, a lot of screaming people, and players who just flew from one side of the field to the other. Not to mention a very large moving picture of Victor Krum. The book had more than that, which featured a detailed and very exciting game between the two teams. They just zapped out the excitement from the tournament, which is *sigh* sad…

2. For the final challenge to the champions, the movie failed to put-up to what Dumbledore said as a maze with hideous and dangerous creatures more than dragons or creatures from the deep sea. Well, I saw nothing but moving vines, walls and a murderous Viktor Krum. Tsk, tsk, tsk.


Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the movie and for me it was the best Harry Potter movie so far. But it was also the book that tops my list that I really enjoyed in all the Harry Potter series (but am not yet done reading The Order of the Phoenix and The Half-Blood Prince so things might change soon.) But I could have enjoyed it more if they didn’t omit those exciting scenes. Oh well, one thing still stands… reading the book is more enjoying than watching the movies… =D

Leave a Reply

