Letting Go…

Two nights ago, I had the opportunity to watch The Shawshank Redemption starring Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman. I wanted to give a review on the film but I wouldn’t dare touch on that. I might give injustice to the film in doing so. That’s the least that I want to do. Right now I want to share with you the part of the film that struck me the most. This is the part where Red (Freeman) and the rest of the convicts are shown hoeing the field. We can hear Red talking about his friend Andy (Robbins).

Sometimes, it makes me sad, though, Andy being gone. I have to remind myself that some birds aren’t meant to be caged, that’s all. Their feathers are just too bright. And when they fly away, the part of you that knows it was a sin to lock them up does rejoice. But still, the place you live is that much more drab and empty that they’re gone… I guess I just miss my friend.

These words spoke to me. It made me realize, and accept, a lot of things. In this generation when we have MP3 players, cellphones and computers, to keep us busy and occupied, it is so hard to have that real connection with the people we meet or talk with. The thing we call friendship.

And sometimes, when you finally find that person and made that genuine connection, that’s the time that they will have to leave due to reasons that are inevitable or unexplainable. Misunderstandings, hurts, responsibilities, principles, etc. Why?

Some of them left as quickly as they came. But still they were able to leave something that will be a part of you for the rest of your life. Things that will make you smile when remembered and, at the same time, make you sad to realize that something beautiful like it has to end. We even ask, “Why couldn’t I keep them for myself?”

But Red said it very well. Those people are not meant to be kept. These kinds of people should be shared to the whole world, like a good book should be given away for others to read. They can do far more greater things to the world, touching other people’s lives, inspiring them in ways that no other person can, knocking sense into them, changing their lives in the process.

Me, I’m just thankful for the people that came into my life and with whom I was able to make that deep connection. They will occupy a part of my life that will be their rightful place and where they will stay forever. I’m thankful for the things that they have done that turned my life into something better.

Sadly, some people had to leave, go away. My days were full of empty spaces, the parts that they have deserted. I know it’s not for me to keep them but I don’t want to lose them either. It’s so sad that some things that are so beautiful have to end. Sometimes I just want to see them again and hang out, talk over coffee or dinner, catch up on the things that we missed, joke around, laugh, learn… just like before.

Will this be the end? I hope not. I’m still praying that I will see them again… catch up with new happenings, patch things up.. May be in His own timing..

I guess I just miss my friends… *sigh*

5 thoughts on “Letting Go…

  1. im just here… sus naman itoh..nahihiya pa..pwede mo naman akong yayain mag-dinner o mag-coffee.. wahahaha! :))

    kidding aside… nalungkot ako sa post mo na ito. nakapag-recollect tuloy ako… namimiss ko rin sila… and the saddest thing na naiisip ko… hindi na ako updated sa mga life stories nila…reason for a feeling of being alienated… well hindi naman un mawawala… but on the positve side… mas maganda na isipin na masaya sila kung saan sila ngayon at kung sino nakakasama nila… And tama ang sinabi mo… makakahabol ka pa naman e…

    Kaya hala sige… yayain mo na ako mag-coffee… pffft!😛

  2. Haha! I’ve been asking you to treat us (with Dexter) to Starbucks right after our first ‘reunion’ right? Ikaw lang naman itong hesitant. Lol!

  3. I love “The Shawshank Redemption”…one of my favorite films. It’s a feel-good movie with a lot of erudite insights. My favorite line from that film is, “Hope is a good thing…” (or something like that). The last scene — featuring the reunion of very good friends –always makes me cry (I have the video and watch it occasionally).

    Good friends are gifts from above.

  4. Hi, napakacomment ako kasi I also love The Shawshank Redemption. Definitely a classic. To those who would like to break out of prison, they should watch this, ahahah!

Leave a Reply

