Miserable

I did a very terrible thing today. I lost my temper to a group of children during our class at church. I got angry to them when I am supposed to be teaching them about the day’s lesson. It doesn’t feel right but I don’t know what else to do.

I’ve been struggling with this for a long time now and I’m starting to lose heart.

I love children and I feel privileged to teach them. But I don’t think I have the capabilities to be their teacher. I just don’t know where to draw the line. I’m trying to befriend them, be a big brother or a buddy to them, so they won’t feel awkward when I am around. But then they seem to lose the respect they should give me during our classes. I can’t get them to take notes, I can’t make them answer when I ask them questions. They don’t do their assignments and they don’t seem eager to attend my class. I’m not even sure if they are learning anything from me. *sigh*

I feel so useless and ineffective in a task that was given to me. I don’t want to be a miserable teacher but I feel bad when I get angry at them. *sigh*

11 thoughts on “Miserable

  1. “Be still, and know that I am God.”

    God hears your prayer, and in the stillness and silence of your heartache, God remains God.

    Forgiveness is His blessing, and answered prayers are the reward of the faithful.

    Be strong, Arthur. Be strong, ask him for that which your heart aches, and let God be God.🙂

  2. Thank you Kuya Ganns. That is exactly what I need. I guess this is me putting things on my own hands when there is God who is telling me to be still.

  3. Ako rin kiko.. actually nago-observe ako kung paano magturo sa mga kids sa mga older bros ko sa community. oh well hirap talaga magturo. pero kids are kids…at isa lang ang natutunan ko..hindi mo talga mo sila mapipilit sa instructions. oh well..mahirap yun. ang nakita ko lang sa mga brothers eh yung sobrang patience talaga and siyempre nakita ko yung fun nila to be with the kids. At siyempre kahit nakakainis na minsan yung kakulitan…eh di humalo ka minsans sa kalulitan nila. hehe. =) Maging bata ka muna pag kasama mo sila.. Then you will feel and you will understand them better. =)

    sori nag-blog na ako dito. =) hehe. God bless!

  4. When I was 17, I was the children’s choir head and assistant Sunday School teacher of our home church in Las Pinas City. It was tough to handle the children, numbering to more than 10. I was still inexperienced. One time, I really lost the plot so to speak, and walked out of the classroom when I felt they were disrespecting me (they were not paying attention to me at that time). They then visited me at home and apologized. It got better from thereon. Sometimes, we have to be ‘cruel to be kind.’🙂

    Classroom management is never easy. But we have the grace of God to guide us through. I wish you all the best in your ministry, Arthur. I pray that you will be able to strike the right balance as you teach in church.

  5. Bilib ako sa mga teachers. I don’t have the patience to teach kaya hindi un ang ministry ko.

    Ok lang yan. Kids need discipline pa rin and it cannot be acheived ny being kind all the time. I agree with ate Jay-Ann we have to be cruel to be kind sometimes.

    God bless you, teacher Arthur!🙂

  6. Karen: Salamat sa post. Nyahaha! I’m trying my best to fit in, pero kailangan ding klase kung klase na namin.

    Ate Liza: Their ages range from 7 to 15. Our classes are good for 1 hour. Yes, they have to take notes because I give exams. Lol!

    Ate Jay-Ann: Your story made me realize that I’m not alone. lol! Thank you.

    Ate Gigi: Thanks Ate Gi! Now, I need to work on my tiger-look. Lol!

    After a week, they seemed to realize, with the help of some of my co-youth workers, their mistake and asked for forgiveness. What I will try to do this time is to hold my self back from rubbing it in against them. Lol! (I hope you understand what I’m trying to say. hahaha!) Thanks guys!

  7. I strongly believe that God is calling us to do specific tasks, for which He created us. Try to see if teaching is your calling. New teaching techniques, different attitude and even more prayers, don’t help if you are not in the right place. Reconsider your position.
    God doesn’t want us to be busy, tired and frustrated Christians, but fulfilled ones.
    Be still…

    p.s. I don’t know you, and this is just another viewpoint for your problem🙂

  8. swattitudine: Truly, you gave me another view of my problem. I will pray about it and ask for leading if teaching is really for me. Maybe I’m doing something wrong, or maybe I shouldn’t be at this place at all. Thanks and God bless.🙂

Leave a Reply

