Must haves…

Last night, while waiting for the screening time of The Oxford Murders (As part of the Spanish Film Festival), I looked around MusicOne and Powerbooks for the CDs and Books that I can buy. I didn’t actually buy them, I just listed them down for the mean time until I have the “power” to buy them. Hehe. Do you think they are great buys or no?

1. Classical Heartbreakers (CD) – For the longest time now, I am meaning to buy a CD of classical music. Instrumental music are much better to listen to especially when I am working. Classical Heartbreakers is a two-disk compilation of soundtracks from movies like “Truly, Madly, Deeply”, “Somewhere In Time”, “The Hours”, “The Pianist”, “The GodFather”. “The Pianist”, “The English Patient”, and many more. Most, if not all, of these movies I haven’t really seen but I don’t think I will be disappointed. I forgot though how much it costs. Haha!

2. Into the Wild (DVD/Book) – The book is written by Jon Krakauer and the movie was directed by Sean Penn. I’m not really sure what made me curious about this movie (maybe something I read) but I am really looking forward to buy the DVD. BUt I also want to buy the book. Decisions, decisions. The book costs P835 while the DVD costs P375 (I think).

3. Angela’s Ashes, ‘Tis and Teacher Man (novels by Frank McCourt) – I always see Angela’s Ashes and ‘Tis in bookstores, even booksales and maybe that picked my curiosity to read them. A part of me is hesitant to buy it because I still have a lot of books in pile and adding three more might be exaggerating. Plus, I’m sure my mom will be psyched if she sees me bringing more and more books into the house. Haha! Decisions, desicions.

7 thoughts on “Must haves…

  1. Must-haves ba talaga or kapricho lang (LOL)? Just kidding.

    Lately, I’ve been buying books and DVDs like there’s no tomorrow (I’m so much a book/video junkie). And prices here in Switzerland are simply outrageous. So this addiction might lead me to bankruptcy if I’m not that careful — hehe.

    The CD of movie soundtracks you mentioned seems cool (they’re not really considered ‘classical music’ in the strictest sense of the word, though). How much are CDs na ba in Pinas?

    I’ve not seen “Into the Wild” (have not read the book either). So I can’t really comment on that one.

    Bought a secondhand copy of the novel “Angela’s Ashes” last week for around 8USD. Got to watch the film adaptation and liked it.

    P.S. O ayan…gave you my two (million) cents.🙂

  2. Jayred: Maybe I should rename my post to “Kaprichos”. Hahaha! That’s one reason why I am hesitant to buy them, another is budget constraints. Haha!

    I am actually looking for classical music in piano. It’s more soothing and relaxing than those played by an orchestra. But I think the ones in this album are good enough to make me have a peaceful working atmosphere. Hehe. Audio CDs are around P450 and DVDs are P550 or up.

    That settles it. I will definitely buy Angela’s Ashes. Thanks for the million cents worth of advice. Hahahaha!

Leave a Reply

