Ae Fond Poem

Four years ago, I subscribed to daily poems sent by Poemhunter.com. I will admit that I don’t read every poem that I get in my email and from the handful that I read, most of them I don’t really understand. Hahahaha! But one day I read this poem by Robert Burns and I fell in love with it immediately. The second stanza just blew me away and I can really feel the sadness in the words. Enough with the introduction that can never give justice to the poem. I just want you to read it and feel it. Enjoy!🙂

Ae Fond Kiss, and then We Sever
by Robert Burns
(1759-1796)

Ae fond kiss, and then we sever;
Ae fareweel, and then for ever!
Deep in heart-wrung tears I’ll pledge thee,
Warring sighs and groans I’ll wage thee.
Who shall say that Fortune grieves him
While the star of hope she leaves him?
Me, nae cheerful twinkle lights me,
Dark despair around benights me.


I’ll ne’er blame my partial fancy;
Naething could resist my Nancy;
But to see her was to love her,
Love but her, and love for ever.

Had we never loved sae kindly,
Had we never loved sae blindly,
Never met -or never parted,
We had ne’er been broken-hearted.


Fare thee weel, thou first and fairest!
Fare thee weel, thou best and dearest!
Thine be ilka joy and treasure,
Peace, enjoyment, love, and pleasure!

Ae fond kiss, and then we sever;
Ae fareweel, alas, for ever!
Deep in heart-wrung tears I’ll pledge thee,
Warring sighs and groans I’ll wage thee.

Source: About.com

One thought on “Ae Fond Poem

  1. yeah…felt it. struck me right at “But to see her was to love her” and left me smiling at “We had ne’er been broken-hearted.”.
    this is nice!🙂 great find.

Leave a Reply

